Song of the South: Untangled Knot

In light of Trinity Sunday this past week, here is a poem I wrote some time ago connected to the same theme.  I hope it blesses you.

Your progressive redneck preacher,

Micah

Untangled Knot

celtic knot

Arms trembling, heart racing

I fall head-long, face-down

fragile crystal plummeting

toward rocky coast

my voice a breathy whisper,

my words a tremble devoid of boast:

“I bind…”

echoes as upon me like a weight

shaking countless centuries of chains

bound on my race and I by cruel fate,

heavier than iron, harder than steel

under which we together strain

celtic path

“I bind unto myself”

like wind brushes my ear

while under the weight of a thousand worlds

I choking cry

my soul and spirit trembling

soaked by a sense, worn by the weight, of

unfulfilled promises and broken dreams

hearts shattering, minds splintering

friendships broken, hatreds borne, peoples divided

Jesus-walking-on-Water-christianity-9568335-1024-768

“the strong name”

I shout like a warrior clad for conflict

and as a mother laboring new ones into life

I hear a call like the crack of winter’s end

I feel my burden, like ice shattering in the morning sun, fall

about me in pieces

Suddenly from the void of night

there comes a soft embrace

as mothering arms unseen

I hear in silence

the whispers of love from strong voice

I am lifted by love-pierced hands

This icon of the Trinity draws on the feminine images used in Scripture for the Holy Spirit, as a reminder that women as well as men can bear the image of God.

“of the Trinity”

resounds about me

and I find myself rising high

as one drenched in salt-worn sea

baptized by enfolding Divinity

newly named

a child of eternity

aloft upon the winds that blow

now weightless and free

amidst the starry host aglow

mother-and-child

Leave a Reply

