Prayer for the People of Syria, and Every Victim on All Sides of our War on Terror

I would be remiss not to pause our normal reflections here on Progressive Redneck Preacher, to reflect on the recent attack my country made in Syria.

I have no words, nor explanation, but am heartbroken at more lives lost in violence that, rightly or wrongly, we justify as a country.

Rather than moralizing I want to invite you to join me in praying for the victims of our ongoing wars on terror on both sides, and particularly those hurting from both the actions of the oppressive forces within Syria and our actions.

Here the words of Pádraig Ó Tuama

“When I was a child, / I learnt to count to five: / one, two, three, four, five. / But these days, I’ve been counting lives, so I count / one life / one life / one life / one life / Because each time is the first time that that life has been taken. / Legitimate Target / has sixteen letters / and one / long / abominable / space / between / two / dehumanising / words.”

Let us pray.

I thank you God, Mother of all living, from whose womb we are borne to this world, who has counted our every hair on our head, that you know the name of all our violent ways have taken, and in life, in death, and life beyond death, they are cradled in your arms. Help us to embrace this same mother love for all your children, Mothering God, viewing none of their lives as expendable on the altar of national security.

In the name of the son of Mary, Jesus Christ,

Amen.

Leave a Reply

