Prayer Practice For Vulnerability

spiritual practice prayerAs we continue to explore Psalm 103’s call to experience God’s presence of grace alive in our life, and particularly meditate an embrace of vulnerability, I want to invite my readers to join in a prayer practice I’ve been engaged in during Lent, as we head toward toward Palm Sunday, through Holy Week, to Easter.

My practice has been to use the following text as a prayer to center me each morning:

“Very truly, I tell you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains just a single grain; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.” — John 12:24.

My practice is, after centering my body through careful breathing in and out and a simple body scan, to repeat the words of this as a prayer.  I begin with one word — “very”, meditating on what feelings, images, and thoughts it brings to mind.  Then I add a word “Very truly”, again paying attention to what images, feelings, thoughts, and concerns come to mind.

If I am led to thank God for something that comes to mind, I do so.  If I am led to remember a need of someone in my life or community, I express it.  If I remember any area of struggle where I need wisdom or strength, I express it.  And most of all, if I feel a vulnerability I share about it in prayer, after sitting with it awhile.

This has been an important practice to me this Lent, and I hope for those who engage in it with me as we enter into Holy Week, it opens you more fully to life, to God, to others.

And if you have another practice of prayer guiding you through this season, please share it!

Your progressive redneck preacher,

Micah

Leave a Reply

