Stuff That Works, Old Friends, and Finding Out Who Our Friends Are

In thinking of learning to open up to help as we discover our own own vulnerability, embracing it as part of our identity, I can’t help but remember the ways in which I discovered strength in friends on whom I could lean in the rough patches of my life.

It is dear friends who showed up unexpectedly, accepting and embracing me for who I am, as broken or as struggling, who kept me from falling apart at times in which it felt like the bottom had dropped out of my life and I feared I had no future.

This piece by Guy Clark expresses this so well:

as does this one:

 

Also “You Can’t Make Old Friends” —

 

And this Tracy Lawrence piece–

 

It is not friends alone, but all who are reliable boons lifting us up in our struggles, who are the presence of grace, the comfort of God to us in such moments.  I think, though, our closest friends are those who make it clear to us we are accepted in all our vulnerability, loss, and limit.   Who has been this friend to you?  How have you discovered to be such a friend?

I would love to hear your story!

Your progressive redneck preacher,

Micah

Leave a Reply

