Song of the South: (repost) Life Angel

I wrote in my devotional on Psalm 103 about my work as a chaplain and how it informs my understanding of how God’s presence helps people rediscover life as a phoenix rising from the ashes.  I thought it would be appropriate to share a poem I wrote early into my career as a chaplain which reflects some of this experience.

Many blessings!

Micah

Life Angel

Angel

At night I hear your soft feet dancing

hummingbird wings aflutter beneath

the echoes of footfalls on tile floor,

sharp voices crying out “breathe”,

the snip of scissors cutting cord,

and husky words echoing “its a boy”

I feel your wings overshadowing us

as I sit beside the bed-side

of a brown haired man,

tubed, wired, and worn beyond his years.

Your wings fall firm as a hand

joining mine on shoulders wet with tears

chaplain 1

I see you dance O Sister Spirit

a-glitter with florescent hallway lights

twirling like flowers caught in spring wind

swirling in the many-hued patterns shining bright

upon monitors buzzing over patient bed sides

the dances which end where life begins

“Sister Death,” sweet Francis called you,

but I know your true name: Life Angel.

st francis sister death

Leave a Reply

