Song of the South: Replanted at Blackmon’s Grove

This poem shares about an experience of letting go in my life, that allowed me to embrace my own past as well as the future open before me.

I hope it blesses you.  Please share about your experiences of letting go to embrace the future ahead of you.

Your progressive redneck preacher,

Micah

 

Replanted at Blackmon’s Grove

 

Bphoenixright winged light wraps around me like pheonix flame

as you come into view.

Memories flood me

of my small hand in your leathery wizened grip

as I walk beside you while, ever the teacher,

you weave tales of the forgotten past.

I recall your smile as you gave me caramels

and your shout of “Charles!”

when daddy turned sharply on a mountain road.

 

I remember that day, when he had long been buried,

that you saw your Charles standing in the room with you

telling you he was fine, and he still cared for you.

tree of lifeWe didn’t believe you then, thinking it a trick your mind played

but now I wonder … was he graced to embrace you from beyond?

After all, you are with Charles now, even though

in this moment I now feel your arms like angel wings

cradling me in embrace while your voice

once cracked with age, now brimming with youth and vigor,

whispering “I love you.  I believe in you.

The work before you is important.

And what you need for it, will be given ”

– a blessing from you, dear grandmother,

a gift from beyond grafting me afresh

upon the family tree from which I felt bereft, alone, forgotten.

 

 

Leave a Reply

