Songs of the South: Things I Lean On, Stuff That Works

While we reflect on the Golden Thread that weaves our lives together, I thought it would be good to share a few songs that reflect this connecting thread.

I hope these bless you!

Your progressive redneck preacher,

Micah

Psalm 23 when I’m scared to death
A sleeping pill and my mind won’t rest
A little BB King when the thrill is gone
These are the things that I lean on
God’s grace when I’m looking on a dangerous path
Twelve steps when I need to find my way back
My nana’s voice on the telephone
These are the things that I lean on
When I’ve done something sorry that I can’t undo
The devil’s giving me another talking-to
When the spirit’s weak and the body’s breaking
The fine line separating right from wrong
What ought to be obvious is all but gone
These are the things that I lean on
The shoulder of a man who’s stronger than me
The faith of a child and I can’t believe
The timeless soul of a Conway song
These are the things that I lean on
When I’ve done something sorry that I can’t undo
The devil’s giving me another talking-to
When the spirit’s weak and the body’s breaking
The fine line separating right from wrong
What ought to be obvious is all but gone
These are the things that I lean on
The shoulder of a man steady and strong
Twelve steps and the twenty-third Psalm, yes
These are the things that I lean on
These are the things that I lean on
These are the things that I lean on
Songwriters: Travis Meadows / Mark Sanders
I got an ol’ blue shirt
And it suits me just fine
I like the way it feels
So I wear it all the time
I got an old guitar
It won’t ever stay in tune
I like the way it sounds
In a dark and empty room
I got an ol’ pair of boots
And they fit just right
I can work all day
And I can dance all night
I got an ol’ used car
And it runs just like a top
I get the feelin’ it ain’t
Ever gonna stop
Stuff that works, stuff that holds up
The kind of stuff you don’ hang on the wall
Stuff that’ real, stuff you feel
The kind of stuff you reach for when you fall
I got a pretty good friend
Who’ seen me at my worst
He can’ tell if I’m a blessing
Or a curse
But he always shows up
When the chips are down
That’ the kind of stuff
I like to be around
Stuff that works, stuff that holds up
The kind of stuff you don’ hang on the wall
Stuff that’ real, stuff you feel
The kind of stuff you reach for when you fall
I got a woman I love
She’s crazy and paints like God
She’s got a playground sense of justice
She won’ take odds
I got a tattoo with her name
Right through my soul
I think everything she touches
Turns to gold
Guy Clark
Leave a Reply

