It’s Not Me, It’s You: My Break-Up Letter to the United Methodist Church

We talk about how people are turning away from mainline Christianity, and wonder why. This author gives one answer, although they in fact turn toward a forward-looking Christian community. It is such desire for a Christianity of love, acceptance, and grace that’s why I moved from evangelicalism to progressive Christianity, and through progressive Christianity to the United Church of Christ. What is your journey? — Micah

Welcome to the Goose Chase

Dear United Methodist Church,

Six years. Six long years I have been a Methodist. I have to give you credit, you were better than the cult Southern Baptist Church I was raised in. More open-minded. More accepting of science. More empowering to women. You gave me a forum for blogging and the belief that church CAN be a place where different people with different flavors of belief can come together to worship in harmony. (Sort of.)

You have your good qualities, absolutely. I’m not saying you’re bad, I’m just saying, well, you’re on a serious struggle bus and I am not down for the ride anymore.

I’ve been queer my whole life. Not a choice, not a personal decision, not a “lifestyle.” It just is what it is. And you know, at 25 years old, I don’t have a problem with it anymore. The vicious lying dogmatic institution church I…

View original post 629 more words

Leave a Reply

