Upcoming Hashtag: #kneehightoagrasshopper

kneehightograsshopper

I wanted to make sure everyone knew about this week’s Southernisms hashtag game.  This week’s Southernism is “knee-high to a grasshopper”, a description often used to describe little children.  Many a time I remember seeing an aunt or uncle, or family friend who I could not remember tell stories about me as a wee thing, saying “I ain’t seen you since you was knee-high to a grasshopper”.

With school recently having started and at the United Church of Chapel Hill, where Kat and I worship, having just started Sunday School and Confirmation classes for the year, I thought it would be fun to invite my readers to share stories of insights and humorous adventures of the little ones in their lives.  Also feel free to share pictures, memes, or videos about cute kids; and any links that share thoughts about what we can do make the world a better place for our kids, particularly here in the south.  Please feel free to add a comment with such a story below.  Or, alternately, type up a story with the hashag #kneehightoagrasshopper, and share it to our facebook page.

Have a great week!

And I ain’t just whistling Dixie here,

Your progressive redneck preacher,

Micah

Pa Barefoot 001

(A picture of me knee-high to a grasshopper, with my grandpa Charles Barefoot, who is teaching me about being a redneck.  Farmer hat and all!)

Leave a Reply

